13

Gift number 13: My life.

I am not writing this with the intent to scare anyone/make them feel bad for me/get attention.  I am writing this because I want to share how much God has redeemed my life and has graciously wrapped me up in a big bear hug and said:

Hannah Grace

you is CHERISHED.

you is TREASURED.

you is LOVED.

(Kinda like “you is kind, you is smart, you is important.”– plz read The Help if you haven’t already)

 

Ok here goes.  God is so good.

On Friday I drove to Greenville with my dear dear dear friend Anna, who I love even more now than ever before.  I needed to go to an appointment and Anna wanted to grab her roller blades for the Wheely Awesome Wace (she roller-bladed lik 14 miles on Saturday!!)

My precious and very generous friend Betsy offered for me to drive her car, because I don’t have one here.  I do have a bike, (which David  gets really great use out of).

So Betsy’s car was making some weird noises and isn’t exactly highway worthy (Sorry Bets, its true.)  I was already feeling a little uncomfortable driving her car, because I had never driven it before and it was just hard to drive.  I had to keep watching the speedometer to make sure I was going 65-70 on the highway.

Anna and I were just chatting about the awesome Avett Brothers concert the night before (she cried during some of it, nbd.)

Anyways, we were almost to Easley and we were at a section of 123 where the grassy median got really wide and became like a little valley in the center. I was in the left lane, and all of a sudden I completely lost control of the car. I think I thought I was going into the right lane a little or something and overcorrected too much, but I am really not sure what happened.

The car went off the road, down into the valley of the median and up into the oncoming traffic lanes of the highway, where I am pretty sure we spun around a couple times, and then we spun back into the median and somehow were able to stop the car.  That’s the best I can explain it, and it still doesn’t seem real.

Here’s a little picture of how it happened in my mind: Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 2.29.06 PM

The whole time it was happening, I just had this horrible horrible feeling that Anna was going to get hit, because she was in the passengers seat and their were presumable cars coming towards us when we were on the other side of the highway.

BUT the Lord has so much grace, and we were completely 100% ok.  The car wasn’t damaged, except for all of the grass that we had torn up in the median that had gotten inside the car.  And although I was slightly terrified and inconsolable for a little while, we both had this amazing sense of peace.

A really sweet couple stopped and helped us.  The wife held me while I was sobbing and the husband looked at the car.  Then Anna drove us to Greenville and her dad had the car checked out at a service center.

The Lord saved us for certain. Carrie Underwood had it right—Jesus does take the wheel!  I don’t really remember it very well, but Anna said that right after we stopped, she saw a bunch of cars coming that would have hit us if we were still in the road a few seconds earlier.

So I am writing this to give a testimony of the miraculous ways God reminds us that he is the only one in control.  He reminded me of his love for me, for which I am so so grateful. After a long period of not feeling worthy, lovable, cherished, etc., I am realizing that God has a grip on my life and he wants me to live to glorify Him.  He deserves all of the praise for saving Anna and I on Friday.

Moving towards the end of this semester and looking towards summer, I am looking to live each day with more passion and more love and more joy and more grace.

I am happy. I love who the Lord made me to be.  I am so thankful for my life.

“I want a life that sizzles and pops and makes me laugh out loud. And I don’t want to get to the end, or to tomorrow, even, and realize that my life is a collection of meetings and pop cans and errands and receipts and dirty dishes. I want to eat cold tangerines and sing out loud in the car with the windows open and wear pink shoes and stay up all night laughing and paint my walls the exact color of the sky right now. I want to sleep hard on clean white sheets and throw parties and eat ripe tomatoes and read books so good they make me jump up and down, and I want my everyday to make God belly laugh, glad that he gave life to someone who loves the gift”

-from the book Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist

2 thoughts on “13

  1. Just read this Hannah and agreeing with C. You are here for a purpose! God needs you and we need you! And Anna too! Love you much,
    J

Leave a Reply

