3 (or 9) gifts prayed

Galatians 5:22-23

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. 

God, grant me love as I walk through campus today. Help me to smile at strangers and seek out anyone who needs a hug. 

God, grant me joy in all of my actions.  Help me to laugh and express my gratitude whenever possible.

God, grant me peace as a I live the life of a busy student. Help me to remember that my worth does not come from my grades or how many things I can check off of my to-do list in a day.

God, grant me patience as I attempt to learn things at school that are confusing. Help me to have patience with anyone I am trying to teach something, cause that can be even harder.

God, grant me kindness as I encounter people who are nothing like me today. Help me to have real conversations with people I sit next to in class or talk to in the lunch room at TL Hanna.

God, grant me goodness in the way I treat the things you have blessed me with. Help me to be a good steward of my education (go to class…) and a good steward of my dorm room (make my bed…).

God, grant me faithfulness in my friendships with so many wonderful people.  Help me make sacrifices of my own personal “me” time (nap/reading/netflix time…) in order to be a faithful friend.

God, grant me gentleness with people that frustrate me. Help me to speak life-giving words in all situations.

God, grant me selfcontrol in the ways I spend my time. Help me to study when I need to and rest when I need to. 

 

As I drifted off to sleep last night, at 9:30 PM (!) I began to lift up that prayer for today. Galatians 5:22-23 is one of my favorite parts of the Bible, because it is so real and tangible.  A life full of the God bubbles up with these qualities, and I want that! It is a prayer for today and for everyday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

