3 gifts burning

Thankful for early morning runs, when my lungs and legs are burning, but I am still happy to be outside, breathing the cool air and navigating the darkness (trying not to trip on the sidewalk…. it happens often)

Thankful for the burnt pizza that I made with Julia and Rachel at their apartment this weekend.  Sadly the whole wheat crust didn’t fare so well in the oven.  Yet it was still a gift, because it was a memory and a delicious meal, and I am so thankful that we got to burn our tongues on hot pizza right out of the oven because we were so hungry. And watch gossip girl and laugh at how outdated the first season already is.

Thankful for a Psalm and Proverb to read each morning, to set fire to my heart, to guide my day. If you are looking for a straightforward way to start your day with scripture, read the Psalm and Proverb that correspond with the date. So today, October 17th,  I read Psalm 17 and Proverbs 17. A little morning truth that relates quite nicely:

A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones. Proverbs 17:22

And some real life application:

Yesterday I was feeling particularly nervous about my African American Sports History test.  My heart was negative and anxious, and in desperate need of something to stop my nervous stomach and heartburn (TMI?).  The best medicine for these feelings: a quick prayer, a verse read out loud, a chat with my mom, an unexpected encounter with a friend.  They make my heart cheerful, and I feel better!

Leave a Reply

