3 gifts ugly-beautiful

Thankful for ugly rainy days, where the sky is gray and the clouds just start spitting at you. Thankful that rain is a good thang and that rainy days are the most perfect occasion for beautiful late afternoon naps. 

 

Thankful that we are not supposed to be perfect. Perfection can seem so appealing and beautiful, and it allures me into thinking that I should be everywhere all the time, should say YES to every opportunity that crosses my path, and should be the best student, daughter, leader, friend, etc. No letting people down, no canceling scheduled things, no B’s on tests, no napping, no awkward lulls in conversation with highschoolers.

 But that leaves absolutely zero room for God to be strong, because when I am striving so desperately to be perfect, I am saying “no thanks” to God’s help. That’s why I am so thankful for perfection–because it shows how ugly my heart is and how beautiful it is to rest in my worth in the Lord.

 

Thankful for a little Friday morning truth as I enter a weekend:

Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. (Proverbs 31:30)

Don’t get me wrong, I am all about looking nice and taking care of myself.  But the outward beauty of the world is going to fade away — and what is left is what is in your heart. 

I want to grow into a wrinkly old grandma, who loves her family and spends each morning in Scripture.

I want my body to grow soft from all of the cookies I make for when my grandchildren come over after school, and we eat them together and share highs and lows about our days.

 In 50 years, I am not going to look anything like I do now. The world may call me ugly, but, as cheesy as it sounds, I think having a heart that is soft towards the Lord is so beautiful. 

Leave a Reply

