3 gifts begun

Thankful for:

photo 2

Beginning a new book, called Cooked, by Michael Pollan.  It is a fascinating work on the four basic elements in nature: Fire, Air, Water, and Earth,  and how they work to turn ordinary, raw substances (plants, mushy grains, animal flesh) into delicious things that we can’t wait to taste and enjoy, and that we get nourishment from.  I love it so far.

Beginning a new challenge for myself: to read in between class changes instead of playing on my phone or texting.  For me, it helps calm my brain to read something instead of to get sucked into the vortex of a screen.  I also just get really sad when I look around the room and everyone is glued to their phone, not talking.  I want to be a tiny bit more approachable, and having a book out has been a good conversation starter in classes so far.

Beginning another new challenge: no screens an hour before bed.  Disclaimer: I am not doing this for any noble reasons.  I just want to be able to fall asleep and stay asleep more easily!  So far, it hasn’t really been working out too well, because I have not been able to fall asleep quickly at all.  Yet, I am thankful that it allows me to wind down a little more without getting sucked into the vortex of the world wide web :)So the experiment continues, and it seems that I will finish Cooked in no time with all of this reading time I am creating in my schedule!

One thought on “3 gifts begun

Leave a Reply

