3 gifts in Luke 2

So so thankful for Luke 2, and the story of the birth of the little baby Jesus! And I love that I learned so much more about the context of this story this year, and I want to share some of those little nuggets that I loved here:

Thankful for verses 9-10: An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified.But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people.  I haven’t thought much in the past about what angels really look like, but this text tells us that angels would normally terrify people, and they had to reassure everyone that they saw that they were bringing good news.  I love this, because it tells me that angels are so powerful and fierce, and are not exactly fluffy and frilly like I sometimes think they are.  And so when we pray for angels to protect us, like when we almost die in a car crash, we are being protected by some seriously amazing warriors for God. 

 

Thankful for a new understanding of the shepherds: they had one of the very lowest, humble, non-respected jobs, which had them on the outskirts of town, watching sheep of all things. And from the historical records of those specific shepherds outside of the town of Bethlehem, my dad told me that the sheep that they were watching were the ones that would be sacrificed as the passover lamb.  Jesus was born right among them to take away that sacrifice and wash the sins of the world clean.

 

Thankful for Luke 2:52, the first verse my parents taught me: And Jesus grew in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and man. Cheers to a new year and another day of growing to be more like Jesus in these ways.

 

Leave a Reply

