3 gifts in shadows

Thankful for disposable camera selfies, all shadowy and washed out.  Love this memory of riding in George’s Ford F-150 on the last night of summer with darling Megs.

Image

 

Thankful for my walk with Glenn in the botanical gardens yesterday, especially because it was a balmy 60 degrees and Glenn is the ideal walking/talking partner. We walked all around until the sun set and the shadows came out, and then we headed back to our little neighborhood on the hall. That sunshine is so so good for the soul! I felt like a different person after only an hour outside. Spring, please come soon!

Thankful for the light in the Word of God, which casts out the shadows of darkness and doubt. This morning, I woke up a little melancholy. I still kind of am, to be honest. But I will keep saying these words over and over, out loud and in my head, until they truly sink in and become second nature: 

Psalm 39: 7

And now, O Lord, for what do I wait? My hope is in you.

Life will not suddenly become fulfilling if I graduate a semester early, if I have five precious babies, if I eat macaroons in Paris, if I publish a bestseller, if I spend my summer days tanning at the country club pool, or if I Zach teaches me how to fly fish.

 Yes, those things are sweet gifts that I hope will happen.  But I cannot and will not wait for them to give me life. My hope is in the Lord, and I am thankful for today because it is a gift.  I will not wait for full life to happen next week, next month, or next year.  My hope is in experiencing more of God today.

Leave a Reply

