A time for rest

This blog is a source of great joy for me.

In my dream world, the way it would work looks like this:

1. Look at the prompt for the day. For example: March 1st is 3 gifts at 3 pm. 

2. Look for gifts that fit that prompt throughout the day. For example: at 3 pm, stop and savor three things to be thankful for.

3. Snap a picture.  For example: A cup of peppermint tea.

4. Write a little post that night before bed, but not too close to bedtime because then I wouldn’t be able to fall asleep because of the terrible consequences of screens at bedtime.  We all know we should power down the screens an hour before falling asleep.

5. Hit publish and hopefully encourage someone who desires more joy in the little things.

Unfortunately, this semester has not been conducive to that approach to my blog.  I am not floating through life.  I am not swimming or dog-paddling either…  I am trying so hard to tread water, but I am tired.

I am tired. So so tired. My health is suffering, my sleep is suffering, and my joy is suffering.

But I don’t want to talk about how I am tired in a blog about gratitude. I want to tell you that God has been gracious to Happy Hannah Grace.

He is thoughtful, he is merciful, and he is telling me to rest.

Yesterday, I talked to a friend about how God was using my busy schedule and my lack of energy to tell me to rest. And he gave me the chance immediately after that conversation.

Screen Shot 2014-03-08 at 11.37.46 AM

My favorite professor told me about this new coffee shop in Taylors, SC called Due South. Located in an old mill, and kind of in the middle of nowhere, but it is dreamy.

When I got there, it was quiet. Awkwardly, painfully quiet. And cold.

They had lost power, and so there was no internet, no hot drinks, no noise. So I got a jar of cold brewed coffee and sat on the couch in the silence.  There were only two other people there.

It had been a long time since I had deliberately sat in the quiet. I believe it was God saying: please rest. Please just sit and be still.

So I did, and I am thankful for that.  I wrote letters to my grandparents and my brother. I sipped the coffee. I flipped through the magazine.

I savored life. And I am so so thankful.

Please forgive me for the lack of posts for ages followed by this rambling one. I intend to continue in my joy dare, but I also intend on resting.

My encouragement: rest today, friends. 

Leave a Reply

