3 gifts found in church

It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve been to a church service, but I’ve been to cookouts and gatherings in homes and taken boat rides where Jesus has been praised and God’s truth has been proclaimed, and I believe that is the truth of what church is.  It isn’t limited to Sunday mornings or wedding ceremonies.   As Focus on the Family simply puts it: church is not a building, it is a body of believers.  I am thankful to be a part of a loving community of believers in Jesus, which extends across the United States and the world. 

I’m thankful for the gathering of women last night, where we sat and ate together and listened to stories of the Lord’s power in saving people the painful realities of despair and fear. 

I’m thankful for my dad’s commitment to our friendship, and for our breakfast dates where we connect and talk about the Lord’s plan and the etymology of the word “sincere.” (Just in case you are wondering: Latin roots for the word sincere are sin=without and cere=wax. A sincere statue, in those days, was something pure and not cracked and filled with wax.)  And I am thankful for the truth of 1 Timothy 1:5 that he shared with me in his pickup truck, because he knew I was cold in the restaurant and wanted to talk about the word of God in a more comfortable (warm) place.  

I’m thankful for a group of friends, old and new, that will be sharing meals and Monday nights with in the coming months of summer.  I am excited for the wisdom and laughs that I know will be shared, and for the gift of intentional and Christ-centered relationships.   

 

Leave a Reply

