3 gifts found in Christ

Thankful for a relationship with my father that is rooted in Christ’s love.  Yesterday morning, we sat at the Silver Diner and ate and laughed and he read from the Word of God. This tradition, this simple breakfast routine, is something that has brought us immeasurably closer in the past few years.  To me, weekly breakfasts with dad are a living, breathing example of the connection we make over meals and intentional time together, and it happens because God created us with physical needs, including hunger.

Thankful for 1 John 4:19: We love because He first loved us.  God’s love for us is so abundant, and my good deeds and acts of service do not make me worthy of more love.  This summer, I want to be a sponge–soaking up every hug from a friend and cool morning and peaceful moment and belly-laugh–becoming more and more saturated with His love, so that I am so filled with joy and love that it flows from my heart without caution or fear on my part.

Thankful that being weak is SO human and SO normal, and it leads me back to comfort in Jesus’ sovereignty.  Yesterday I had one of those days where I felt empty of joy and absent of peace–instead, I cried big tears on the couch and felt anxious about silly things like falling asleep and seeing my friends.  But the truth, the true truth in God is this:

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Ephesians 3:20-21

Oh, the relief! I don’t even have to be anxious about what I should think up for my future, because my purpose is to bring God glory through what he has imagined and created for my life. It certainly takes the pressure off.

One thought on “3 gifts found in Christ

Leave a Reply

